Letter to Gaia

gaia

Dear Goddess

I’m sorry you must endure such travesty

In having your greatness restricted to one day

Why humans do this I am unsure

But you must know that I feel

That every day be your day

I could rattle your ears with endless talk

About the deprivation man has brought

I shall refrain from such

And offer you a barrage of thanks

For the small pleasures you bring

Like vibrant pink roses

Juxtaposed against the emerald green leaves

Looming goddesses that cast a shadow

Of intelligence, protection, and love

I’ve written on them multiple times I’m sure you know

And I will continue to do as such

What must it be like to be so advanced

Directly converting the glory of the sun

To give us vital green nutrients

The drops of dew hanging from the tip of plants

Falling ever so gently into tiny puddles

A crisp breeze flows through the trees

Carrying with them the sweet scent of

Revitalization

Humbling mountains tower over all

Inspiring by their sheer magnitude

The rolling tides that contribute most of all

To our health and vitality

It would take me several hours

To walk a mile in nature

For every gift you give is priceless

You do not charge our eyes

To see your magnificence

Your benevolent beauty that rains down

On our heads, but how many of my species

Carry with them large umbrellas?

I seriously have to ask why would

You hold yourself back

For our sake?

I know in time I’ll answer my own question

After further exploration

But it is confounding

Considering all the destruction

But I suppose before anyone else

You saw our potential

You knew we could become great beings

That we would live in tandem with nature

And utilize the most efficient resources

You knew we could tap into your heartbeat

And dance to the song of your hum

It is an intoxicating hum that silences my nerves

And dispels static to to the void

Centering me in the now of your everlasting presence

Gaia, how I love you

With all the passion in my growing heart

Thank you for all that you give

Oh, Mother Gaia, your children are hurting

I’m sure you are aware

But you work endlessly to give us what we

Need nonetheless

I shall do everything in my power

To help others see your art

Listen to your song

Dance to your beat

And feel your emotion

So we may all awake to

A New Day

Sincerely, Your Child

2 thoughts on “Letter to Gaia

    1. jampope17 says:

      Thank you so much, I’m glad you think so! I do feel like poetry is all sensory, visual, auditory, what have you, so I choose pictures I feel best convey the message I’m trying to make. I’ll eventually accompany more photography and drawings when I feel I’m more confident in those areas!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment